Active SIAM members are bolded.

SIAM Fellows: Class of 2011

Mark J. Ablowitz
University of Colorado Boulder

For contributions to the theory and application of nonlinear waves.
Kendall E. Atkinson
University of Iowa

For contributions to the numerical analysis of integral equations and to the teaching of numerical analysis.
Claude W. Bardos
Laboratoire Jacques Louis Lions, Universitť Pierre et Marie Curie

For contributions to the cross-fertilization between industrial problems and advanced theory of partial differential equations.
John T. Betts
The Boeing Company, Retired

For contributions to computational methods in optimal control and nonlinear programming with industrial applications.
Charles R. Doering
University of Michigan

For contributions to understanding of phenomena in nonlinear and stochastic dynamical systems, turbulent transport, and mixing.
Jim Douglas, Jr.
University of Chicago and Purdue University, Retired

For research on numerical methods for partial differential equations and their application to the simulation of flows in porous media.
Alan S. Edelman
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

For contributions to mathematics and industry in the areas of numerical linear algebra, random matrix theory, and parallel computing.
Charbel Farhat
Stanford University

For contributions to parallel computing and modeling and simulation of fluid-structure interaction problems.
Jean-Pierre Fouque
University of California Santa Barbara

For contributions to asymptotic analysis for random media and financial mathematics.
Alan M. Frieze
Carnegie Mellon University

For pioneering work on random graphs and probabilistic analysis of combinatorial algorithms.
Kenneth M. Golden
University of Utah

For extraordinary interdisciplinary work on the mathematics of sea ice.
Thomas A. Grandine
The Boeing Company

For contributions in computer-aided geometric design and leadership in industrial mathematics.
William D. Gropp
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

For contributions to algorithms and software for high performance scientific computing, including the development of MPI.
Philip Holmes
Princeton University

For contributions to nonlinear dynamics spanning the range from theory to applications.
Ilse C. F. Ipsen
North Carolina State University

For contributions to numerical linear algebra, perturbation theory, and applications.
Christopher K. R. T. Jones
University of North Carolina Chapel Hill

For contributions to dynamical systems, nonlinear partial differential equations, and applications in nonlinear optics, ocean dynamics, and neuroscience.
David E. Keyes
Columbia University and King Abdullah University of Science and Technology

For contributions to implicit methods for the solution of partial differential equations and dedicated service to the scientific community.
Suzanne M. Lenhart
University of Tennessee Knoxville

For contributions to optimal control with biological and physical applications and for contributions to undergraduate research.
John G. Lewis
The Boeing Company and Cray, Retired

For contributions to sparse linear algebra and high performance computing.
Zhi-Quan Luo
University of Minnesota

For the development of novel applied mathematics ideas and methods for signal processing and digital communication.
Olvi L. Mangasarian
University of Wisconsin Madison, Retired and University of California†San Diego

For seminal contributions to the theory and algorithms of optimization and applications to machine learning.
Bernard J. Matkowsky
Northwestern University

For contributions to asymptotic and perturbation methods, bifurcation theory, nonlinear dynamics, pattern formation, stochastic dynamical systems and combustion theory.
James McKenna
Bell Laboratories, Retired

For mathematical contributions to the underpinnings of telecommunications products and his support of SIAM.
Volker Mehrmann
Technische Universitšt Berlin

For contributions to numerical linear algebra, matrix theory, differential-algebraic equations, mathematical software, and the transfer of knowledge to and from industry.
Boris Mordukhovich
Wayne State University

For contributions to variational analysis, optimization, and optimal control.
Bill Morton
University of Oxford Computing Laboratory, Retired

For contributions to numerical methods for partial differential equations.
Ricardo H. Nochetto
University of Maryland College Park

For contributions to the study of free boundary problems and phase transitions.
Beresford N. Parlett
University of California Berkeley, Retired

For contributions to numerical linear algebra.
Ahmed H. Sameh
Purdue University West Lafayette

For pioneering contributions to parallel algorithms for numerical linear algebra.
Robert D. Skeel
Purdue University West Lafayette

For contributions to computational molecular biophysics and to numerical ordinary differential equations and linear algebra.
Craig A. Tracy
University of California Davis

For fundamental contributions to statistical physics, integrable systems, and probability theory including random matrix theory and its applications.
Stephen J. Wright
University of Wisconsin Madison

For contributions to the theory and computational aspects of linear and nonlinear optimization.
Jinchao Xu
Pennsylvania State University

For contributions to the theory and applications of multilevel and adaptive numerical methods.
Ya-xiang Yuan
Chinese Academy of Sciences

For contributions to nonlinear optimization and leadership of computational mathematics in China.