Active SIAM members are bolded.

SIAM Fellows: Class of 2014

Mark Ainsworth
Brown University

For contributions to numerical analysis and scientific computing including finite element methods, adaptive methods, reliability, and a posteriori error estimation.
John S. Baras
University of Maryland, College Park

For contributions to systems theory, stochastic control, and communication networks.
Lorenz T. Biegler
Carnegie Mellon University

For contributions in large-scale nonlinear optimization theory and algorithms, particularly IPOPT, and their novel application to flowsheet optimization, process control, data reconciliation, and complex process applications.
Ake Bjorck
Linkoping University, Emeritus

For contributions to numerical linear algebra, especially numerical methods for least squares problems.
Alfred M. Bruckstein
Technion - Israel Institute of Technology

For contributions to signal processing, image analysis, and ant robotics.
Suncica Canic
University of Houston

For contributions to the modeling and analysis of partial differential equations motivated by applications in the life sciences.
Inderjit S. Dhillon
The University of Texas at Austin

For contributions to numerical linear algebra, data analysis, and machine learning.
Vladimir L. Druskin
Schlumberger-Doll Research

For contributions to inverse problems, scientific computing, and numerical analysis and their application to hydrocarbon exploration.
Leah Edelstein-Keshet
University of British Columbia

For contributions to the mathematics and modeling of the cell, the immune system, and biological swarms, as well as to applied mathematics education.
Donald Estep
Colorado State University

For contributions to computational science and engineering, industrial collaborations, and mathematical exposition.
Bengt Fornberg
University of Colorado Boulder

For advances in spectral methods, radial basis functions, and other methods for computational fluid dynamics and partial differential equations.
Omar Ghattas
The University of Texas at Austin

For contributions to optimization of systems governed by partial differential equations and leadership to promote computational science and engineering.
Philip E. Gill
University of California, San Diego

For contributions to numerical optimization, linear algebra, and software.
Solomon W. Golomb
University of Southern California

For contributions to coding theory, data encryption, communications, and mathematical games.
Jan S. Hesthaven
Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne

For advances in high-order numerical methods for partial differential equations and applications.
Dorit S. Hochbaum
University of California, Berkeley

For contributions to the design and analysis of approximation algorithms, flow problems, and their innovative use in applications, and in solving NP-hard problems.
Masakazu Kojima
Tokyo Institute of Technology and JST CREST

For contributions to semidefinite optimization and complementarity problems.
Jeffrey C. Lagarias
University of Michigan

For contributions to the theory of wavelets and harmonic analysis, and to interior-point and direct search optimization.
Jean B. Lasserre
Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique and Institute of Mathematics, University of Toulouse

For contributions to global polynomial optimization and the generalized problem of moments.
Tai-Ping Liu
Academia Sinica

For advances in the theory of shock waves and kinetic theory.
Mitchell B. Luskin
University of Minnesota

For contributions to multiscale numerical methods for materials with microstructure and defects and atomistic to continuum models.
Nancy K. Nichols
University of Reading

For contributions to the numerical analysis of systems, control, and data assimilation.
Peter J. Olver
University of Minnesota

For developing new geometric methods for differential equations leading to applications in fluid mechanics, elasticity, quantum mechanics, and image processing.
Yuriko Yamamuro Renardy
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

For contributions to the fluid dynamics of interfacial instabilities through the mathematical and numerical analysis of viscous, viscoelastic, and thermal effects.
L. Ridgway Scott
University of Chicago

For contributions to finite element methods and scientific computing.
Mikhail Shashkov
Los Alamos National Laboratory, X-Computational Physics Division

For contributions to the development of mimetic finite difference methods for nonlinear systems of partial differential equations.
Christine A. Shoemaker
Cornell University

For the development of optimization algorithms for groundwater flow and related environmental problems.
Valeria Simoncini
Universita di Bologna

For contributions to numerical linear algebra.
Zdenek Strakos
Charles University in Prague

For advances in numerical linear algebra, especially iterative methods.
Bernd Sturmfels
University of California, Berkeley

For advancing symbolic and numerical techniques for solving systems of nonlinear polynomial equations and inequalities and connecting computational algebraic geometry with applications.
Jorge X. Velasco-Hernandez
Instituto de Matematicas UNAM

For advances in mathematical epidemiology of infectious diseases and in mathematics applied in industry problems.
Michael S. Vogelius
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

For contributions to the mathematical and numerical analysis of nonlinear problems of PDEs and applications in inverse problems, homogenization, and material science.