Active SIAM members are bolded.

SIAM Fellows: Class of 2016

Linda J. S. Allen
Texas Tech University

For contributions to stochastic and deterministic modeling of populations and disease transmission, their applications, and education in applied mathematics.
Chandrajit Bajaj
University of Texas at Austin

For fundamental contributions to applied mathematics algorithms in geometric modeling, imaging science, bioinformatics, and data visualization.
Egon Balas
Carnegie Mellon University

For pioneering contributions to integer programming.
Gang Bao
Zheijiang University

For significant and lasting contributions to inverse problems in wave phenomena and electromagnetics applied to optics.
Dwight Barkley
University of Warwick

For innovative combinations of analysis and computation to obtain fundamental insights into complex dynamics of spatially extended systems.
John J. Benedetto
University of Maryland, College Park

For contributions to applied harmonic analysis, especially sampling theory and frames theory.
Gregory Beylkin
University of Colorado Boulder

For the design and creation of fast numerical algorithms and seminal theory for linearized inverse problems.
Paul C. Bressloff
University of Utah

For contributions to mathematical neuroscience and cell biology, with a particular focus on stochastic processes.
Xiao-Chuan Cai
University of Colorado Boulder

For advances in scalable implicit methods for linear and nonlinear partial differential equations and wide application in science and engineering.
Thomas F. Coleman
University of Waterloo

For contributions to large-scale, sparse numerical optimization, financial optimization, and leadership in mathematics education and engagement with industry.
Clint N. Dawson
University of Texas at Austin

For fundamental contributions to the development of computational models of coastal storm surges and other complex geophysical phenomena.
Maria J. Esteban
Centre national de la recherche scientifique

For distinguished research in partial differential equations and for advancing the profile of applied mathematics internationally.
Michael Hintermüller
Weierstrass Institute for Applied Analysis and Stochastics and Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

For contributions to theoretical and numerical optimization, and for their application.
Michael Holst
University of California, San Diego

For contributions to computational biology, numerical relativity, and scientific computation.
Bo Kågström
Umeå University

For contributions to our understanding of matrix pencils and for leadership within the European high performance computing community.
Andrew Knyazev
Mitsubishi Electric Research Laboratories (MERL) and Professor Emeritus at University of Colorado Denver

For contributions to computational mathematics and development of numerical methods for eigenvalue problems.
Alan J. Laub
University of California, Los Angeles

For contributions to the numerical solution of problems in control and filtering.
Xiaoye Sherry Li
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

For advances in the development of fast and scalable sparse matrix algorithms and fostering their use in large-scale scientific and engineering applications.
Helena J. Nussenzveig Lopes
Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro

For advances in analysis of weak solutions of incompressible Euler equations and for advancing applied mathematics in Brazil and internationally.
William M. McEneaney
University of California, San Diego

For contributions to the control for nonlinear systems.
James G. Nagy
Emory University

For contributions to the computational science of image reconstruction.
Cynthia A. Phillips
Sandia National Laboratories

For contributions to the theory and applications of combinatorial optimization.
Michael C. Reed
Duke University

For contributions to analysis and mathematical biology.
Arnd Scheel
University of Minnesota

For contributions to applied dynamical systems and the study of pattern formation.
Christoph Schwab
ETH Zürich

For contributions to the theory and computational methods for partial differential equations.
Endre Süli
University of Oxford

For contributions to the numerical analysis of partial differential equations.
Françoise Tisseur
The University of Manchester

For contributions to numerical linear algebra, especially numerical methods for eigenvalue problems.
Sabine Van Huffel
KU Leuven

For bridging the gap between advanced numerical linear algebra techniques and biomedical signal processing.
David P. Williamson
Cornell University

For fundamental contributions to the design and analysis of approximation algorithms.
Xunyu Zhou
Columbia University and University of Oxford

For accomplishments in stochastic optimization, financial mathematics, and behavioral finance.