Active SIAM members are bolded.

SIAM Fellows: Class of 2017

Zhaojun Bai
University of California, Davis

For contributions to numerical linear algebra, especially eigenvalue computation, and applications to computational science and engineering.
Peter Benner
Max Planck Institute for Dynamics of Complex Technical Systems

For contributions to numerical methods for optimal control and model reduction.
Angelika Bunse-Gerstner
Universität Bremen

For contributions in numerical linear algebra, control theory, and model reduction.
Emmanuel Candès
Stanford University

For pioneering work in mathematics of information, compressive sensing, computational harmonic analysis, statistics, and scientific computing.
Rama Cont
Imperial College London

For contributions to financial mathematics and stochastic analysis.
Ricardo Cortez
Tulane University

For contributions to numerical methods for incompressible fluid dynamics and leadership in promoting diversity in the mathematical sciences.
Lieven De Lathauwer
KU Leuven

For fundamental contributions to theory, computation, and application of tensor decompositions.
Bart De Moor
KU Leuven

For contributions to concepts and algorithms in numerical multilinear algebra and applications in engineering.
Andreas Griewank
Yachay Tech University, School of Mathematical Sciences and Information Technology

For fundamental contributions to algorithmic differentiation and to iterative methods for nonlinear optimization.
Helge Holden
Norwegian University of Science and Technology

For contributions to nonlinear partial differential equations and related fields, to research administration, and to the dissemination of mathematics.
Panayotis Kevrekidis
University of Massachusetts, Amherst

For fundamental contributions to the existence, stability, and dynamics of nonlinear waves with applications to atomic, optical, and materials physics.
Vipin Kumar
University of Minnesota

For contributions to data mining and high performance computing.
Karl Kunisch
Karl Franzens Universität Graz

For contributions to inverse problems, approximation to infinite dimensional control systems, and computational methods.
Monique Laurent
Centrum Wiskunde & Informatica (CWI), Amsterdam, and Tilburg University

For contributions to discrete and polynomial optimization and revealing interactions between them.
Mark A. Lewis
University of Alberta

For contributions to mathematical biology and the study of spatial dynamics processes.
Lois Curfman McInnes
Argonne National Laboratory

For contributions to scalable numerical algorithms and software libraries for solving large-scale scientific and engineering problems.
Igor Mezic
University of California, Santa Barbara

For sustained innovation at the dynamical systems theory/applications interface; notably for advances in the use of Koopman operator theory.
Michael Kwok-Po Ng
Hong Kong Baptist University

For fundamental contributions to algorithms for structured linear systems and image processing.
James Renegar
Cornell University

For fundamental results on continuous optimization and the interface between algorithms, numerical analysis, and algebra.
Andrew J. Sommese
University of Notre Dame

For foundational contributions to the numerical solution of polynomial systems and applications of algebraic geometry.
Joel H. Spencer
Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University

For contributions to discrete mathematics and theory of computing, particularly random graphs and networks, Ramsey theory, logic, and randomized algorithms.
Gabor Stepan
Budapest University of Technology and Economics

For contributions to the theory and analysis of delayed dynamical systems and their applications.
Daniel B. Szyld
Temple University

For contributions to numerical algebra and matrix theory.
Jean E. Taylor
Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University and Professor Emerita at Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

For contributions at the interface of mathematics and materials science for the study of crystal growth, optimal shapes of crystals, and minimal surfaces.
Marc Teboulle
Tel Aviv University

For fundamental contributions to continuous optimization theory, analysis, development of algorithms, and scientific applications.
J. A.C. Weideman
Stellenbosch University

For powerful and elegant numerical algorithms derived from complex analysis.
Carol S. Woodward
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

For the development and application of numerical algorithms and software for large-scale simulations of complex physical phenomena.
Kevin Zumbrun
Indiana University

For his contributions in traveling wave stability and his exceptional mentoring of graduate students and post-doctoral researchers.