Active SIAM members are bolded.

SIAM Fellows: Class of 2018

Todd James Arbogast
The University of Texas at Austin

For contributions to the numerical analysis of partial differential equations, multiscale analysis, and homogenization for flow through porous media.
Liliana Borcea
University of Michigan

For the mathematical and computational study of wave propagation and imaging in random media.
Luis Angel Caffarelli
The University of Texas at Austin

For seminal contributions in regularity theory of nonlinear partial differential equations, free boundary problems, fully nonlinear equations, and nonlocal diffusion.
Ronald A. DeVore
Texas A&M University

For his fundamental contributions to the mathematical foundations of information and computational sciences.
Stanley C. Eisenstat
Yale University

For development and analysis of fast computational algorithms for linear and nonlinear systems of equations.
Michael Elad
Technion - Israel Institute of Technology

For contributions to the theory and development of sparse representations and their applications to signal and image processing.
David A. Field
General Motors Corporation

For pioneering work founding and organizing the SIAM Great Lakes Section, the premier SIAM section integrating industry and academia.
Margot Gerritsen
Stanford University

For contributions to numerical methods for compositional and thermal fluid flow processes in porous media, ocean dynamics, and digital stewardship.
Michael B. Giles
University of Oxford

For contributions to numerical analysis and scientific computing, particularly concerning adjoint methods, stochastic simulation, and Multilevel Monte Carlo.
Alain Goriely
University of Oxford

For contributions to nonlinear elasticity and theories of biological growth.
Peter Kuchment
Texas A&M University

For landmark contributions to mathematical physics and inverse problems.
Madhav V. Marathe
Virginia Tech

For contributions to high performance computing algorithms and software systems for network science and public health epidemiology.
Alison Lesley Marsden
Stanford University

For contributions to the development and clinical translation of cardiovascular patient-specific modeling, optimization, uncertainty and simulation methodology, and open source software development.
Bojan Mohar
Simon Fraser University and IMFM

For contributions to graph theory and computing, in particular structural, topological, and algebraic graph theory.
Helen Moore

For impactful industrial application of mathematical modeling in oncology, immunology, and virology. For mentoring, teaching, and leadership.
Pablo A. Parrilo
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

For foundational contributions to algebraic methods in optimization and engineering.
Alex Pothen
Purdue University

For advances in combinatorial algorithms for scientific applications, and leadership in founding the combinatorial scientific computing community.
Helmut Pottmann
Technische Universitaet Wien

For contributions to industrial and applied geometry and pioneering research at the interface of architecture and mathematics.
Juan M. Restrepo
Oregon State University

For contributions to the mathematical and computational modeling of the ocean and atmosphere.
John N. Shadid
Sandia National Laboratories and University of New Mexico

For contributions to solution methods for multiphysics systems, scalable parallel numerical algorithms, and numerical methods for strongly coupled nonlinear partial differential equations.
Arthur S. Sherman
National Institute of Health

Arthur Sherman has made fundamental discoveries using mathematics in physiology and has trained a generation of successful biomathematicians.
Ralph C. Smith
North Carolina State University

For his contributions to uncertainty quantification and materials science.
Tamas Terlaky
Lehigh University

For fundamental and sustained contributions to the theory and practice of optimization, and for exemplary service to the optimization community.
Robin Thomas
Georgia Institute of Technology

For his contributions to structural graph theory and graph coloring, especially his work on the Four-Color Theorem and its generalizations and a proof the Strong Perfect Graph Theorem.
Kim-Chuan Toh
National University of Singapore

For his contributions to the development of algorithms and software for semidefinite programming and, more generally, conic programming.
Panayot S. Vassilevski
Portland State University and Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

For designing algebraic approaches for creating and analyzing multilevel algorithms.
Homer F. Walker
Worcester Polytechnic Institute

For contributions to theory and software of iterative methods for nonlinear systems and optimization, as well as application of these methods to scientific simulations.
Karen E. Willcox
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

For contributions to model reduction and multifidelity methods, with applications in optimization, control, design, and uncertainty quantification of large-scale systems.